Tails of Sulani - Prologue

By:
IllusoryThrall
June 19, 2019

Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.1

Generation Zero: Beige - Starts with a HUMAN Sim

Appearance: Dark Blonde Hair, poor clothing style
Traits: Slob, Childish, Clumsy
Aspiration: Pick whatever you'd like. (Your goal this
generation is only to become a Mermaid and have your heir)
Occupation: Part Time Jobs ONLY
House Goal: None
Lot Trait: Off the Grid

A/N: This challenge is written in first person, and I started her as a teen for the purpose of the story. Also, I am ignoring the "don't travel to other worlds" until she actually moves to Sulani.


Hi. My name is Jazmin ... well, we'll call me Jazmin Naiades. Pronounced ney-uh-deez. My real last name isn't important anymore because I ran away from home.. and I'm not going back. The last name I picked has to do with mermaids. Why? Because they exist! I'm SURE of it. I've read all the fairy tales, and heard all the theories.. but you're not going to tell me no fat sea cow-manatee thing fooled ALL the sailors. There had to be something more to the stories. My goal in life is to find one... to prove once and for all that they exist. At least to me. I'm the only person who needs to know, right?

But that's a ways away. Currently I'm living moment to moment.. and sleeping at the Willow Creek Park. It's cold this Spring morning, and there's hardly anyone around.. which is a good thing, because I'm still exhausted from my trip here to the suburbs. I came from.. well, let's just say the city. IT certainly wasn't anything like this. This is green, and lush, and holds promise... despite the fact that there's no promise of Mermaids. I didn't have enough for a bus ticket all the way out to the shore, so this is where I landed. I guess I'll have to bite the bullet and get a job in the area to make enough money for that ticket and a little bit of land to live on. I don't need much.. as evidenced by the hard bench I'm currently on. I can't go to school, because they'll catch me and send me home. Plus.. What good is school anyway. They only tell us what they think we ought to know - and I don't need that. I know enough already to know that I'm better off on my own. My parents never paid any attention to me anyway - but then, that's all behind me now. So it doesn't matter.

I push thoughts of where I came from behind me and dig through a trash can looking for a local paper. Perhaps there I can find some employment opportunities that won't ask too many questions. Let's see.. Lawn Mower.. Don't have one of those... Retail Employee and Fast Food Employee.. too much paperwork to fill out at the beginning. So I guess that leaves me Babysitter or Barista. Always liked kids .. but working only two days a week seems like a bad start. I need more hours.. so I guess Barista it is. I don't need to sleep in, anyway, right? Time is irrelevant when you're living on a bench in a park.

I spend some coins I found on the ground to place a call to the number listed, and am quickly rewarded with my first job. But they don't need to know that, right? Apparently I start tomorrow. Which means that I'm on my own for money today. My stomach rumbles loudly, reminding me that food wasn't high on the list of priorities while you were on the run... but it's rapidly rising up the ranks.

The pond has been ribbiting at me all morning, so my first thought is "Let's catch some frogs and sell them at the yard sale table over there." Well, it wasn't quite as easy as I'd hoped, and I spent most the morning at it. But I had some frogs to keep to breed.. and some to sell.

Amazingly, even with a 50% markup, my frogs were selling. Miraculously, I now had a couple hundred dollars - which would certainly cover both transportation to work the next day and some food for my growling belly. Things were already looking up.

Then the skies let loose. For a moment, I considered grilling some hot dogs anyway.. but soggy food really didn't appeal, so I went inside the park's restroom area to wait out the storm. Before long, I was sound asleep on one of the benches, without a care in the world. Naps can fix everything. Least that's what they seem to teach in pre-school, right?

Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.1

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

3 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
soulgal7
Guest
soulgal7
June 19, 2019 7:45 PM

Oh cool! Where can I find this challenge? Did you make this challenge yourself?

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
June 19, 2019 7:47 PM
Reply to  soulgal7

Thanks for the reminder! I usually post a link back to my "rules" for each challenge on a prologue/chapter one and I completely forgot. The base of the rules I got off the sims forums from a post, but I changed quite a bit. My rules are https://illusorythrall.wordpress.com/tails-of-sulani/ on this page.

Deafsimmer
Guest
Deafsimmer
April 24, 2021 11:45 AM

Great start.

Post Calendar

June 2019
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 676
  • 721
  • 103,448
  • 30
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram