Foreshadowed Sunset - Chapter 16

Chapter 15 | Chapter 17

The dreary weather outside actually was a boon to me, because it meant that there wasn't a sun to burn me up. I could see that Mari was getting tired of the constant rain, however, so I made sure she had plenty of things to do inside.

With what was left of our savings, we had bought some curtains (which I can't believe I had forgotten... Thank you, Mari, for mentioning it to me...) and started cluttering up the house to really make it look lived-in.

I moved my easel, and bought a second, so I could have two paintings in progress, and started the task of painting and more painting to refill the bank account. Mari often kept me company while I painted, and we truly started talking about dreams for the future. I talked about how I wanted my heir to be a girl.. to pay homage to my mother, and also - I wanted her to be a human. That way she could decide whether or not to .. well, become like me. Mari agreed, although she made me promise that once we had a human girl-baby, that I would transform her, as well. She couldn't imagine being without me. Then, suddenly, she decided she could confess her true dream. Apparently, her true dream was to be an archaeologist, which was news to me.

I assured her that being low on money was a temporary thing, and that soon, we could take some trips to Selvadorada to acquire some antiquities for her to begin to learn authenticating on. I even bought her an archaeology table and set up a space for her to work as a show of "good faith". Mari, apparently, had been shy to mention it before now, since it was so far away from the "at home business job" I had mentioned her being able to get if she wanted.

Later that evening, there was a knock at our door. Mari peeked out the window to find Sonia, much to both of our delight. Mari didn't bother to get dressed, just ran out to invite her in.

Sonia hurried in, and ran over to where I was with a package.

"Oh, Sonia, you shouldn't have!" I gushed, but Sonia insisted.

"It's tradition, I have to bring over a housewarming gift!" she insisted, and handed it to me. Inside, I found a large check.

"Sonia! You really shouldn't have! I can't accept this!" I replied, and tried to hand the check back to her.

"Nonsense." She replied, and pushed the check back at me. "It's for you two, to make this house a real home. I know you probably drained your savings building this in a hurry, and I couldn't think of anything to give you that would mean more than this!"

I gathered her into my arms, almost in tears. "I don't know what I did to deserve a friend like you.. but you are welcome here anytime. Here. Take a key. That way the door is always open to you." I handed her the key, and turned to see what Mari was up to.

Mari, of course, was on the ball, and had not only gotten dressed, but had steeped tea for all of us, and was pouring a cup for Sonia first.

Sonia took the tea graciously, and we all sat down for a long chat. It was, overall, a wonderful evening.

The next day, Mari started studying my Vampire Lore textbooks, clearly trying to learn everything she could.

I was back to painting. I had to save for a trip to Selvadorada, after all.

Later that night (well, more like morning), we tried again. No luck so far, however, and I was trying not to worry.

A few days later, however, my worries were dispelled, because Mari came out while I was working on the garden to tell me the news. The test was POSITIVE! We were having a baby!

I was overjoyed. There was no way to know whether it would be human, or a boy or a girl, but it didn't matter. The baby would be welcomed no matter what.

Later, after I .. um.. rustled up some dinner and headed home, I heard someone behind me. Worried I had been unmasked, I turned... and found the cat.

"I must say, Dušan, you have done well for yourself. I congratulate you. You have a fabulously supportive mate - who is now expecting - don't look so shocked. Us animals can tell these things. And you finally have a home worthy of your lineage. Well done. I expect you to flourish here."

I looked at the cat, still flabbergasted at his little hat, bowtie, and ability to talk. Not sure which one was harder to understand. Still baffled, I started to reply, but the cat raised a paw. (A slightly dirty paw, no less... I wondered where he actually lived.)

And, without me being able to say a thing, he was gone again. Shaking my head, I finished with the garden and headed inside.

Mari, who had been feeling very domestic (for obvious reasons), was stumbling through learning to knit. She had hopes to get to being able to make clothes for the baby, but at the rate she was going, I was fairly sure the baby would be here before that skill ever came, but I wasn't going to say so.

I ended up being correct, however. Mari was still working on beanies and socks by the time our baby was born. It was a boy, but he was gorgeous. He was christened Andric, a good Slavic name, and ... well, he was going to have to grow into the name. He was just a tiny little tyke now. He had a lot of growing to do.

Mari spent most of her time with little Andric, cleaning him up, feeding him, rocking him, singing to him... if I couldn't find her, she was undoubtedly with him.

In an attempt to help her with the housework, since the baby was taking so much of her time - I hired a maid. He doubled as "breakfast" on some days, however...

In an attempt at an apology, I finished cleaning up the trash that he had been trying to carry to the trash bin in the kitchen. I felt so bad.. perhaps that would be the last time he was breakfast?

Once he left, I joined Mari in the bed, and we slept the rest of the day away. As usual. (I did, however, take her glasses off before going to sleep and place them on the bedside table .. because she had clearly been so tired she had forgotten to take them off.)


Bonus shot:

Chapter 15 | Chapter 17

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Post Calendar

July 2022
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 295
  • 716
  • 91,135
  • 0
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram