Foreshadowed Sunset - Chapter 15

Chapter 14 | Chapter 16

Things at "Camp Forgotten Hollow" slowly became routine. Mari woke up each afternoon, had a solitary dinner, and did any cleanup the camp needed. I then woke up later (closer to sundown - for obvious reasons..) , went to find my breakfast alone (also for obvious reasons), and came back to camp.

Between the two of us, the camp was always spic-and-span, and the garden was growing weed-free. It wasn't a huge additional income, but it was welcome none-the-less. I was still making most of our money from painting, because Mari had quit her job so she wouldn't have to commute to Windenburg every work day. Once we had a house, perhaps she could find a job she could work from home in an office, but I certainly wasn't going to require it of her. I was making enough money currently that we were still able to save a hefty amount with every paycheck from the gallery.

The bees were finally getting used to Mari's presence, which was nice, since I didn't want her getting stung all the time. And so.. the days drug by, with us keeping a close eye on the mailbox and going to Sonia's to check my email every couple of days.

Finally, one rainy, miserable day, a slim envelope came from the housing commission. All it said was that our plans had been approved as-is, no revisions were necessary. I was still asleep when Mari got the mail, but I was quickly aroused from slumber by Mari's shrieks of glee. Wondering what could be causing all the noise, I wandered outside the tent, to nearly run into her as she came to get me. Upon reading the note in near-disbelief, I was over at Sonia's as fast as was physically possible. In mere moments, I had contractors hired and due to arrive the next morning.

Several days later, the evening began with a celebration. The foundation of our home was complete. I had, of course, had to replant the entire garden to the back of the lot, but the inconvenience of that barely registered. Mari hugged me tightly, as we stood in what would soon be our entrance hall in the pouring rain. Giggling like children, we played in the rain together and started thinking about the décor.

Each night the house progressed a little bit, and so did our grand plans for furnishings. Orders were being placed, and we pored over swatches of wallpaper and paint for hours at a time in the light from the firepit. The excitement grew every day, so much so that it quickly reached a fever dream high.

We barely had doors... but still, plans continued. Sonia visited most nights, and was amazed at how quickly the house was taking shape. I laughed, and told her that with what I was paying the contractors, it definitely should be. She started to scold me for "wasting money" .. then laughed, and agreed that I had good reason to be impatient. I had waited long enough thanks to that odious Landgraab man.

Speaking of him, I certainly hadn't seen him in Forgotten Hollow since our confrontation. Which, lets be honest, wasn't a bad thing. I could deal with spending the rest of my undeath with never seeing either him or Vlad again.

Glancing up from my latest painting, I smiled as I looked over the progress on the house. Very soon, the furniture could be delivered.

As the roof was finally being finished, the interior painters were due the next day, and the house was finally looking like an actual home. Not exactly the biggest or the best possible... but it was a start.

Considering that we were still living in a tent, and eating our meals (well, Mari's meals.. ) from a campfire... from our perspective, it was definitely looking like a massive improvement.

Day after day, the move-in date got closer. We helped the electricians, the plumbers, the drywall people, .. anyone who came to work on the house invariably had an extra pair of hands in Mari, and - on the rainy days - me, as well.

Finally, it was starting to come together. The cabinets were installed in the kitchen, the flooring was laid, and the lights were connected. The floor plan was finally complete, and the furniture was due in a couple of days.

Upstairs, the space was more cramped, but we'd definitely wanted space for the baby. Because both of us knew that would be coming soon. Not yet... but soon.

Another week, and the house was finally ready ... and it was magnificent.

We stood at the threshold, and took a deep breath. Chuckling, I picked Mari up and carried her into the front door. We had a home. A real freaking home. We walked around it in awe, and a pure, child-like glee.

Nothing in my life could have topped this moment. Not graduation, not .. not anything! Looking over at my shoulder, I snapped a picture of Mari just smiling randomly at the hallway shelf. The tent was securely packed upstairs, the camp shower dismantled, and the campfire pit was buried under some new grass seed.

I looked back to my painting, took a deep breath, and centered myself again. I finally had a real place to paint. A roof over my head, and drapes over the window... I could once again be active during the day, and spend more time with my love. But for now.. I had so much more money to make. The bank account was nearly drained.. but it had been worth it. We were .. finally.. home.

That night, we celebrated the only logical way. The best way, in my opinion.

I certainly hoped the celebration would lead to another kind of celebration.. and soon. The nursery was waiting!

Chapter 14 | Chapter 16

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan Frankowski
Guest
Susan Frankowski
July 9, 2022 4:38 PM

Loved seeing the pics of the house coming along

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
July 9, 2022 5:01 PM

That was such a pain to do. But it ended up being worth it. 🙂

Post Calendar

July 2022
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 576
  • 716
  • 91,416
  • 0
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram