Tails of Sulani - Chapter 3.12

By:
IllusoryThrall
June 6, 2022

Chapter 3.11 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 3.13

Generation Three: Red

Appearance: Red hair, scandalous clothing style
Traits: Romantic, Hot-headed, Art Lover
Aspiration: Serial Romantic
Occupation: Art Critic
House Goal: 30,000 worth

Fish Arrives

All this domestic bliss must be getting to me. Because I brought home a puppy. He was just so darn cute in the rescue's ad, so alone and needing a home... I couldn't help but bring him home. I had called from the shelter on my way home, telling Kado to prepare the kids for something new... and then I chickened out. I know... me. Chickening out. Really funny. But I did. So instead of telling him I was bringing home a new pet, I said I was bringing home fish. Kado was (understandably) confused, and said he'd get the grill ready.. and I just laughed.

So, that's how he got the name "Fish". I walked in the front door, trying valiantly to juggle the bags of toys, brushes, and a fuzzy pet bed (basically everything a puppy might need and then some) from the pet store, a wiggling puppy, and a huge bag of puppy food. Before I could really prepare myself, the puppy was wiggling right out of my arms, so I leaned down to let him run, and called out "Fish is here!"

Charlie came running around the corner and stopped dead. Toddling along after came Chris, and the sudden stop caused him to run into Charlie and plop uncoordinatedly to the floor and start crying. Kado followed in, sweeping Chris into his arms, and trying to peer around Charlie to see what the problem might be.

Fish, of course, as precocious as he is, decided Charlie must be his new best friend, and half ran, half tumbled his way straight for her. With a squeal of glee, Charlie sat down to welcome him into the family. Kado's eyes went wide, Chris noticed the puppy and immediately stopped crying and reached out his little arms towards him. Kado's eyes cleared after a moment, and he gave me a saucy little look, saying "I suppose the grill isn't needed for this Fish, huh? Perhaps we should order in, instead?"

I laughed, agreed, and watched the tiny puppy happily playing with my two precious children. Kado took the food from me, and started making room in the cupboards, while I quickly opened the toys and brushes and bed and starting finding places for those.

Later, as the sun went down, I watched out the window at Kado tending his garden, listening to the happy sounds of kids playing .. and the puppy snoring contentedly in the middle of a pile of toys. Apparently he'd been too tired to get all the way across the room to the bed. Fish had been a success, and he'd clearly found a forever home.

The weeks passed quickly, and family life truly settled into a routine. Mornings meant Kado and I would be in the sea, hydrating our scales, and Charlie played while keeping a side eye on young Chris as we swam.

Charlie's scouts "career" was coming along well, and she was collecting more badges day by day. Her physical prowess was obvious, and I was so very proud of her.

I had really started to enjoy painting, and my paintings were apparently actually sought-after, which certainly helped in the money department.

Charlie was trying to be more like me, too, and had been working on her Creativity, as well. Granted, it didn't look anything like mine, but I was proud of her nonetheless, and dutifully posted all the pictures around the house.

My handiness hadn't really gotten any better, though.. so luckily I have Kado to take care of things.

Although, on this particular day, he was busy. So I was trying. I mean, I really had to get this cake baked....

Charlie got her birthday present from Kado, and loved it. Not long after, Kado peered into the kitchen to see my predicament. Luckily, Charlie was busy writing in her new journal, so Kado was able to help me out with the stove so I could "secretly" finish the cake. I say that in quotes, because I highly doubt it was really secret. I mean... the whole house smelled like cake.

Fish let himself out now that he was proudly housebroken and had grown into his long legs to get up and down the deck stairs.

Kado helped me fix the kitchen appliances that always seemed to be on the fritz... and I finished making dinner with the cake safely frosted and tucked into the fridge. After dinner, I secretly brought Charlie into my room so that I could give her the present from me.

At first, she looked confused at the soggy ball of kelp in the box, but her eyes quickly cleared and she threw herself into my arms.

"No one EVER has to know that you weren't always a mermaid, love." I told Charlie. "There was never any doubt in my mind that that's what you were meant to be."

We hugged tightly, and headed downstairs. Kado cheerfully lit the candles, and Charlie took a deep breath.

... And... Just that fast, I was suddenly the parent of a teenager. After the party ended, and all the cake had somehow disappeared... Charlie snuck out the front door, took a deep breath, and ate the kelp.

I peeked out the window, almost laughing at the grimace that quickly followed the after-cake "treat"... then Charlie gingerly tiptoed into the ocean....

And magic happened. Her tail was magnificent. I nearly cried with happiness. I felt so full of love that I honestly couldn't contain it. Kado came around the corner, and wrapped me in his arms so I could cry unabashedly. My little baby was growing up. And I had to be okay with it. Because her life as a mermaid... was just beginning. Finally.


Chapter 3.11 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 3.13

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan Frankowski
Guest
Susan Frankowski
June 6, 2022 9:00 PM

Fish is adorable!! Charlie is so pretty as a teen. I love this family.

cathytea
Guest
cathytea
June 7, 2022 12:33 PM

Yay for the fishtail!

Post Calendar

June 2022
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 169
  • 551
  • 98,853
  • 1
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram