Tails of Sulani - Chapter 3.8

By:
IllusoryThrall
May 18, 2022

Chapter 3.7 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 3.9

Generation Three: Red

Appearance: Red hair, scandalous clothing style
Traits: Romantic, Hot-headed, Art Lover
Aspiration: Serial Romantic
Occupation: Art Critic
House Goal: 30,000 worth

Growing Up

I finally got around to buying a television. Granted, it was because work was requiring me to watch some for research, but still, I bought a TV.

Work seems to take up so much of my time. I try to do as much from home as possible, but trips to the city on the bus were time-consuming and necessary. I hated leaving poor Charlie in daycare, but progressing in my career was definitely a priority for me. Things were going really well on that front, at least. Promotions were coming regularly, and so were the raises - which really helped, because I knew I was going to need to upgrade the house eventually. Charlie wasn't going to remain tiny forever.

Mom stopped over for a visit today, and it was great to see her. I hate that she's getting older, but I think she'll be around for most of Charlie's childhood, which is one good thing about me having had Charlie so early. She did express some concern at the dark circles under my eyes, and hinted that a partner might help, but she knew better that really pushing on that front. We hung out while Charlie napped, and then I had to get back to work. By the time it was bedtime, I was, again, beyond exhausted... and getting Charlie in bed took almost more energy than I really had. I fell into bed, almost glad I had to go to the city tomorrow and Charlie would spend the day at daycare. I tried to push away the feelings of parental guilt, and drifted into a sound sleep - except for the nightmares of suddenly finding out I was pregnant again.

During the next day's work in the city, I ran across Kado again, and he asked about Charlie. I sat with him and chatted about kids. He seemed very interested in how Charlie was doing, and hinted rather obviously that he'd love to come over again.... and who was I to say no? We took the bus back to Sulani, stopped by the daycare to pick up Charlie, and headed back to my little home on the beach.

I most definitely didn't make it into the house, though. By the time I cleaned the sand off my face, and stumbled into the house, Charlie had been expertly read to sleep, and Kado had even made me something simple to eat. I stuffed the salad in my mouth, then we retired to the bedroom to get some sleep.. after a little "thank-you" woohoo.

The next few days were a whirlwind of work and spending time with both Kado and Charlie. When I was busy, he took care of Charlie, and when I had time, all three of us played together in the sand quite happily.

Apparently, Kado wasn't even upset by the icky tasks. He cleaned out the toddler potty, did the dishes, and generally kept things in order with the house. No mention was made of the family he had back where-ever he lived, and I wasn't willing to ask. I just appreciated the help.

It was clear that Charlie absolutely adored Kado. The two were nigh inseparable. Every time I turned around, the two were deep in one activity or another, and having a blast. I couldn't ask for a better babysitter.. and let's be honest, he was a whole lot cheaper than daycare.

Harvestfest came with it's invasion of gnomes, and still Kado stayed. There was still no mention of his family back "home", and he was definitely starting to feel like a family member here.

Harvestfest was also Charlie's birthday, and while Kado had to leave to take care of some business, I made a lovely chocolate cake. Charlie blew out the candles, and happily scarfed down a big ol' piece of cake. We waited on presents, though, because Kado was coming back later, and Charlie really wanted him there to open them.

While we waited, I checked in on work, did some painting, and called the local school to register Charlie. There's always so much to do as a parent... it never ends. I had a column due the next day, though, so I started watching the darkening sky worriedly, hoping that the last bus would bring Kado to watch Charlie while I wrote.

It did, thankfully, and Charlie, Kado, and I sat down to enjoy opening the presents before I disappeared to write my column. Charlie was so excited about her presents, and I smiled a secret little smile, knowing that there was another surprise in store for her at bedtime. I had contacted the contractors again, and as we spoke, her room was being remodeled with her new age in mind.

After my column was completed and turned in, I came back to the happy pair, and ushered them to Charlie's "new" room. Charlie gasped in surprise, and immediately climbed all the way up to her new loft bed. After a quick story, she snuggled into sleep, and Kado and I left quietly to clean up the house. I packed up the Gnomes and their plant gifts, getting them ready to sell (because who wants to store Gnomes for another year??), and Kado cleaned up the mess I'd made while making the cake. Without being asked. Without comment, we retired to bed, and I fell asleep cuddled happily in his arms.

The weekend arrived, and with it, some lazy days of swimming, painting, and spending time with Kado and Charlie. The matter of Kado's family was starting to really itch at the back of my mind, though I was not willing to bring it up just yet. I tried to just ignore the itch, and enjoy the way things were, but it did worry me. I didn't want to have to explain to Charlie that he was gone back to his other family when and if he finally did leave, because I knew darn well it would break her heart.

Later in the afternoon, I took a nap.. and woke up to a bucket of champagne next to the bed. Curiously, I looked around, but Kado was nowhere to be seen. Shrugging, I went for a quick swim, leaving Charlie making sandcastles outside the front door.

I had forgotten to check the bathroom, apparently. Kado was there, taking a leisurely bath, and (unbeknownst to me at the time) doing some thinking. Upon getting out of the bath, he looked for clean clothes, and found that he didn't have any left from what he'd packed in his small backpack. Frowning, he watched me swimming for a moment, then packed up his dirty clothes, said a quick "I'll be back later" to Charlie.. and left.

By evening, he was still not back, and Charlie was starting to worry. I had to explain that Kado had a home of his own, and probably had things to take care of. I avoided mentioning the other kids and the wife.... I just didn't know how to tell her. I helped her with her homework, and finally got her in bed, although I doubt she got to sleep very quickly, because she was still waiting to see if Kado would come back. The Champagne was warm, the bed still mussed from the night before.... and very very empty. Sadly, I curled up into bed and hoped he would be back tomorrow.


Chapter 3.7 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 3.9

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

4 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Susan Frankowski
Guest
Susan Frankowski
May 18, 2022 4:41 PM

I hope Kari moves in and stays with this family. Their hearts will be broken if he doesn’t. I really like the characters snd enjoyed reading this chapter

shellylag84
Guest
shellylag84
May 18, 2022 9:40 PM

Ooo, the plot thickens!

cathytea
Guest
cathytea
May 19, 2022 1:46 PM

Aw, it's messy and sad.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
May 19, 2022 3:25 PM
Reply to  cathytea

Life gets that way sometimes. I didn't mean to end this chapter on a sad note, it just worked out that way.

Post Calendar

May 2022
S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 590
  • 592
  • 101,964
  • 1
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram