Oasis Springs: Day Twenty-Five

By:
IllusoryThrall
June 26, 2021

OS: Day Twenty-Four < | Challenge Home Page | > OS: Day Twenty-Six

... Surprise?

Friday, after school, Jaz went outside to play on the playground. Looking around, they noticed that they were alone and pulled out their phone. After all that had happened in the past week, and having to skip therapy, Jaz really felt the need to call Gemma. Hoping to catch her in between clients, Jaz listened to the phone ring on the other end.

Thankfully, Gemma answered almost right away, and seemed thrilled to hear from Jaz. "Hey, sweetie! I'm sorry I didn't get to see you this week, is everything okay?"

"I guess it's okay." Jaz started, then paused. "Marnie wouldn't tell me why we couldn't come on Tuesday, but I wonder if it had something to do with my Dad being gone. He disappeared on his birthday, and things have gotten really weird around here since then."

"Weird? What do you mean?" Gemma asked, sounding very concerned.

Looking around to make sure they were still alone, Jaz confessed, "Well, Bennie got on TV, and performed a routine about me trying to come out. He's promised not to perform it, but he did. And he did it on TV."

Gemma gasped, but let Jaz continue... "Then he and Mom got into a huge fight about Mom being pregnant again. I only heard some of it - but it seems it wasn't really an accident. In fact, I guess none of us were, and Mom has been lying to Dad all along? I'm not really sure, but that's what it sounded like. Bennie said some really awful things, slept on the couch, and was gone the next morning." Jaz sighed, and paused.

"Things have only gotten worse since then. Tuesday the power was out, and Marnie wouldn't say anything about why. It was out all day, and some the next morning, too. When I got home from school on Wednesday, the TV, stereo, and a lot of other things were gone, but at least the power was back on."

Gemma didn't respond right away, unsure of what to say that could possibly make any of what Jaz had just confessed okay. "Oh, sweetie. I'm so sorry. Bennie doing that must have hurt terribly, and in no way was it okay. You glossed over it a bit, are you doing okay after being outed like that??"

Jaz smiled, and replied, "Actually, it worked out okay. I had friends who aren't friends anymore, but I made some new friends, too. And the ones I lost .. well, I guess they didn't matter. Phoenix was one of them, though. He sided with Max, and both decided they'd rather be friends with Billie." Just then, the sliding door opened, and the brother in question walked outside. "Oh, no, I have to go. Sorry, Gemma. I'll call again later."

Jaz quickly hung up and hid the phone, then went back to playing, hoping Phoenix hadn't noticed.


Back inside the house, Marnie's next chore was waiting right around the corner.

While trying to do laundry, the washer ended up spewing sudsy, dirty water all over the floor.

The above-mentioned missing TV and other furniture made the whole house seem very empty, but at least vacuuming was easier.


Back outside, Jaz's phone rang, and, curiously, Jaz answered it. "Hello?"

"Hi! Um, Jaz? It's Colin. Would today be a good day for me to come over?"

Jaz's face broke into a huge smile. "Of course, Colin! I'll wait out front for you!"

Running around the house to the front yard, Jaz occupied themselves with their soccer ball, and before long, Colin came running from the bus stop around the corner. Jaz put the ball down and ran to greet her best friend.

Jaz presented Colin with a wild daisy they'd found in the backyard. "Happy Love Day, Colin! I'm so glad to see you!"

Surprised, Colin accepted the flower with a smile, smelled it, and put it away. Then, his face fell.

"Jaz... I have to talk to you." Colin started, "And it's not good."

Jaz looked at their friend, suddenly concerned. "What's wrong, Colin?"

Colin took a deep breath, then broke into tears. Jaz watched, him for a moment, more and more concerned. "What's going on, Colin??"

"I'm afraid I can't be friends with you anymore." Colin said, and Jaz reacted like one would expect.. disbelief.

"What?!"

Beside himself, Colin tried again. "I can't be friends. With all the rumors flying about you, I simply can't risk it."

"Risk what? I don't understand, Colin!?" Jaz replied.

"I can't be outed. Not right now. I'm not ready. I just can't be associated with you. I'm afraid it might come out that I'm Trans." Colin confessed.

"I would NEVER tell your secret, Colin! I haven't even told my therapist, and she's not allowed to say anything I tell her. You secret is safe with me! How could you even think I would do that?" Jaz said, incensed.

"Sorry, Jaz. I just can't do it." Colin said, his hands in fists. Then, without another word, Colin turned and walked away, leaving Jaz near tears.

The one friend they had truly counted on was no longer their friend. How could this happen?!


Across town, after yet another court trial, Shaylee was being released from custody.

She walked out in jailhouse clothes, being that her other clothes didn't fit anymore, and was immediately met by Cade Yeagar.

Overjoyed to see a friendly face, Shaylee gave him a proper welcome.

Then, to the surprise of everyone - Cade dropped to a knee right in the middle of the Police Station.

The answer was immediately clear, and the two left together leaving rumors flying behind them.


Back at the Malone's house, Marnie's phone rang.

Caught in the middle of cleaning house (again.. or still?), Marnie answered, and, with no surprise at all listened to her son's lawyer telling about the sentencing hearing earlier in the day. Apparently, Benji wasn't going to be leaving the jail anytime soon. The judge had "made an example" of him, and he found himself locked up for the next six years. Miserably, Marnie rang off, forgetting completely that she had mean to mention her husband's continued disappearance.

Clearly, the strain was showing. Her misery and exhaustion were a daily thing, and she had no idea what might come next. One thing she was sure of, though, was that things were not getting better for the Malones anytime soon.

OS: Day Twenty-Four < | Challenge Home Page | > OS: Day Twenty-Six

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
cathytea
Guest
cathytea
June 28, 2021 12:54 AM

I'm so sad that Jaz lost her best friend!

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
June 28, 2021 10:50 AM
Reply to  cathytea

I know. 🙁 That post was so hard to write.

Post Calendar

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 286
  • 508
  • 89,747
  • 0
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram