Oasis Springs: Day Eight

By:
IllusoryThrall
June 8, 2021

OS: Day Seven < | Challenge Home Page | > OS: Day Nine

Relief

After the kids had all gone off to school, Bennie brought out a new toy of his - a microphone. Apparently he felt getting in some mic practice at home was important enough to buy a mic for at home. Braydon, as you can see, is more interested in dancing to the music from the stereo under the TV than listening to his Dad, however.

Marnie, as usual, was spending the day cleaning. There was always something to clean in this house, and today the basement desperately needed cleaning, so she was busy with her vacuum.

The twins, as usual, were mostly left to their own devices, and were playing on the Murphy bed. (These guys are so cute, I can't even resist taking pictures of them!)


Later, after the kids got home from school, Marnie grabbed her coat, and told Jaz to grab hers, and they undertook the monster bus ride to Newcrest again. It would probably be dark before they got home, and Marnie was in a rotten mood about having to continually do this for Jazmyn.

Gemma seemed thrilled to see Jaz again, and came out to get Jaz for their appointment shortly after Marnie and Jaz arrived. Nervously, Jaz had been pacing over by the upstairs fountains.. partially because sitting next to a grumpy Marnie simply didn't sound like something she'd like to do.

Jaz followed Dr. Gemma into the office, glad to get away from Marnie's grouchiness.

"Well, hello, Jaz." Dr. Gemma said pleasantly as they both sat down.

"Hi!" Jaz replied cheerfully, still working up the courage to say what she wanted to say.

"So, how was your week? Did anything special happen? Did you do anything fun?" Dr. Gemma asked.

"Well, my older brother, Benji, had his birthday party at our house, and then he moved out with his girlfriend. The house is definitely quieter now." Jaz started.

"Oh, really? Do you know where he moved to?" Gemma asked.

"The big city. I think his friends are moving with them, too." Jaz replied, "Oh, and I went to the Willow Creek Library by myself on Sunday."

"Oh? All that way by yourself? Are you sure that was that safe?" Gemma asked, concerned.

"Oh, I've done a lot of riding the bus lines by myself. We used to come from Magnolia Promenade to Oasis Springs for Saturday club meetings - Phoenix and I, I mean." Jaz said, dismissing the question. "I knew which buses to take because Myles has a club that meets at the library. But that's not important."

"Oh? What's the important part, then?" Gemma asked, interested.

"I did some research. I'm pretty sure nobody saw me. I remembered what you said about that gender thing. So I looked it up." Jaz said, a little hesitantly.

"What did you find?" Gemma asked with a smile.

"I think I'm actually non-binary." Jaz said softly, as if afraid Marnie might hear through the door.

"She can't hear us, sweetie, so don't worry." Gemma assured, "What did you find out about being non-binary?"

"It basically means you're not a girl or a boy, that you're somewhere in between, or just not either of the choices." Jaz said, still softly.

"And you feel this describes you?" Gemma asked.

"Yeah. I mean - I know people say I'm a girl. But I don't feel like one. And I'm not a boy, like my brothers, either. I don't know what I am, but I know what I'm not." Jaz replied, almost defensively, then offered a smile.

"I think knowing what you're not is a great place to start from. Is this why you have trouble going to the bathroom with other people around?" Gemma asked perceptively.

"Probably." Jaz replied, but didn't elaborate.

"You know, with what you and I have learned today, I could probably talk to your school and get permission so you could use a private bathroom. Would that help?" Gemma asked.

"Really?" Jaz asked.

"How about I give them a call and see what I can do. I'll let you know how it goes tomorrow, okay?" Gemma replied. "Meanwhile, our time is pretty much up for the day. I'll call you tomorrow after school, alright? And I'll see you next week for our appointment, we can talk about this more then if you'd like."

"Wait." Jaz said, suddenly worried.

"What's wrong, Jaz?" Gemma asked, clearly concerned.

"My parents won't have to know about this, right? I don't want them to. Not yet."

"No, sweetie. This stays between us. I will have to tell the school about your dysphoria, but they won't be able to tell your parents without my - and your - permission." Gemma reassured.

"Oh. Good. So, talk to you tomorrow, then?" Jaz asked, smiling again.

"Definitely." Gemma replied, going to the door to open it. "Have a good trip home, Jaz."

"Okay!" Jaz replied, suddenly wondering to herself what Colin felt about going to the bathroom at school It had never occurred to her before that someone else might have a problem like she did. However, she wasn't about to forget her promise. She wouldn't tell anyone about Colin. Ever. Not even Gemma. Waving goodbye to Gemma, she followed a still-grouchy Marnie down the stairs and to the bus stop... all the while her mind lost with questions she couldn't ask and thoughts she couldn't share.

OS: Day Seven < | Challenge Home Page | > OS: Day Nine

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
cathytea
Guest
cathytea
June 9, 2021 12:49 PM

In the opening pic, Brayden looks so much like Bennie!

And that worked out well for Jaz!

Post Calendar

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 625
  • 508
  • 90,086
  • 0
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram