The Diversity Experiment (TDE) Chapter 1.1

Intro/Rules | Chapter 1.2

Yeah.. I started a new challenge. So sue me. 😉 Actually, I intend for this to be my "I'm bored and don't want to get into anything deep" challenge, or the "I don't have time to do more than a little play" .. well, you get the idea. Something a little more casual. However, my grand idea is anything but casual. I want to keep these guys around for 100 generations. So I'll be working on them for a while. I know it's possible to get the legacy generation challenges by doing fast aging and adoptions and such, but I just can't see playing a family like that. I like to get to know my sims! And there's no way I could imagine playing for 100 generations without liking or being attached to the sims in question. So here we go. There's more info on the Intro/Rules page, if you're interested how this is going to work, or where I got the sims from, as well as info on the commercial lots I built. (All are on the gallery under my Wyldhawke Origin ID)

Anyway, let's meet our founders. I chose the Greenes, and gave them hair/outfit makeovers. Nothing about their faces or bodies were changed, though.

Iris wants to be a collector, and has the Loves Outdoors, Clumsy, and Lazy traits. She also comes with a biology degree. Aiyden wants to be a Master Maker and has the Maker, Romatic, and Hot-Headed traits. He also comes with a physics degree.

Anyway, now that I've introduced them, let's get down to the play.

They load up on the pavement next to their new home, and Aiyden immediately devolves into a coughing fit. Iris seems a bit worried for her college friend.

She inquires as to his health, and he mentions the smog is choking him. He is second guessing their decision to spend so much on this house when the neighborhood appears to be in such bad shape. (They are 40k in debt from buying the bare necessities and building the house.)

Iris immediately lights into Aiyden for doubting their mission to clean up Port Promise, and he initially looks bewildered by her attack.

Before long, however, his hot-headedness takes over, and he's giving as good as he gets. As a simmer, I try to make them play "nice", but they're simply not cooperating. Every "friendly" interaction is causing further damage to an already tenuous friendship.

Finally, They're thoroughly angry from both sides losing the argument, and I gave up and sent them to inspect their new home. Both stomp off to the front door like recalcitrant teenagers.

Iris checks out their kitchen - which is pretty much the only mostly furnished room in the house. Aiyden checks, and finds that the bathrooms, indeed, at least have plumbing, there's a washer and dryer - and one double bed that looks like a rock to sleep on. He comes back to relay the bad news to Iris, and she doesn't take it well.

"There's only one bed? How on earth did this place cost so much, then? What did all our money go to? The walls and floors are so BORING! How could you have approved these designs?"

"Whoa. You weren't exactly helpful in picking out the designs, you were too busy with college to help out, so I picked the house that looked like it would be big enough for both of us. It's not my fault the designer misunderstood and thought we were a couple!"

"Whatever!" Iris has had enough of Aiyden, and turns her back on him to order some cheap (very cheap) bedroom furniture for herself, and contact the local job bureau for employment. She has the furniture installed in the room that's the furthest from Aiydens (in the third floor), and lucks out with finding a company who will hire her on based solely on her degree, not her abysmal skills. Aiyden considers the fact that his Aspiration requires him to be a Freelance Maker, and makes the contacts to join that agency - but his "slacker" approach in his "career" only seems to aggravate Iris more.

With neither of them speaking to each other at the moment, they both decide to head to the local Community Space to check out the neighborhood. Aiyden is horrified by the mess on the lot, and immediately starts meeting people to try to gain influence so he can turn the lot into a Maker Space.

Iris sees the lot and immediately has other ideas. This neighborhood NEEDS revitalization. This junkyard of a community space can always be cleaned up later - after they have some better laws in place. She immediately start campaigning for the area to be more "Self-Sufficient". There aren't a whole lot of people around, yet, though - and who can blame them with all this mess around?! - so both Iris and Aiyden settle on the same thing to keep themselves busy.

Dumpster Diving. Before long, they're both filthy and miserable, but they've been finding a ton of great stuff they can sell to improve their home situation.

Iris finds some locals to convince to join her cause finally, while Aiyden continues looking for deals in the dumpsters. He finds a coffeemaker that looks like it's seen better days, but he decides that's the one item he thinks he can salvage for their home.

When he finally turns to finding people who might also like a better space to gather as a community, the smog again chokes him up. This lady is not impressed, and decides she didn't want to talk to him after all.

Throughout the day, Iris continues to gather influence and votes for her plan of action for the neighborhood, completely ignoring whatever Aiyden might be up to.

She finds another dumpster, and ignores the cats who are now showing up en masse to look for food in the junkyard. She might as well look for more deals, because it's not like she's going to get any dirtier by dumpster diving some more.

A commotion behind her finally draws her attention, and she turns to find a cat stalking a mouse that is clearly too smart for the trap placed by it's hole near the junkyard "office". Chuckling, she turns to look for some more things to sell.

They end up spending most of the night searching for deals, and end up with quite a nice chuck of change.. and needs that are in the red on pretty much every front. Exhausted, they both head home.

The next day, Aiyden's priority is fixing the coffeemaker he found. And possibly cleaning it up, because it smells something awful.

Iris spend her time rearranging their new furniture, and making sure the cable got hooked up properly. Already the place is starting to feel more like a home. She even ordered a more comfortable bed for both her and Aiyden.. although she might have consulted him first.. but she didn't think about it.

Finally, she makes dinner for them, and finds out what he spent his day on while they were at the junkyard.

"A Maker Space?? What do we need that for? Didn't you see the horrible plans that the neighbors have for the neighborhood?? You should have been campaigning to stop those ideas, not wasting your influence on that silly junkyard. We could always have fixed that later!!"

Aiyden just rolls his eyes and goes back to eating his salad. Not a very good salad, either, mind you. But - then - with the way things look, it's no wonder the only produce they could get at the store was already turning brown at the edges.

Will these two ever start getting along??

Intro/Rules | Chapter 1.2

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
somebodysangel13
Guest
somebodysangel13
August 14, 2020 8:54 AM

LOL, these two are a riot already. It's really refreshing to see a sims 'couple' who can't stand one another at first. Will be interesting to see how their relationship develops... assuming it does, of course 😉

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
August 15, 2020 6:12 PM

I was pretty shocked when they had that first argument, and then I couldn't get them to play nice. Makes me wonder if there aren't more arguments in their future.

Post Calendar

August 2020
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 705
  • 663
  • 90,829
  • 15
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
All graphics ©IllusoryThrall 2020 - Website run by Wordpress
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram