Foreshadowed Sunset: Chapter 5

Chapter 4 | Chapter 6

I was in such a good mood when I woke up on the planned "date day", that even the moody clouds above couldn't dampen my spirits. I completed my chores at home as quickly as possible, gathered up my paintings from yesterday to drop off at the gallery, and hurried into Windenburg.

The paintings, luckily, sold handsomely, and they gushed over my improvement. I appreciated the compliments.. but I had places to be, so I excused myself as soon as I could politely do so.

Once again, I picked up Alex at the cafe ... and no matter how she pleaded, I wouldn't let her know where we were going. "It's a surprise!" I insisted - several times - before she finally gave up. I made her cover her eyes when we got to the bowling alley until we got inside.... because there's no hiding the sounds of a busy bowling alley!

Her face broke into a grin, and she mentioned she hadn't been bowling since she was a child. I assured her that I wasn't very good, either... so we were in good company. We rented a lane, and set about having a good time.

Alex was right, though. - She WAS terrible at bowling. But it was funny to both of us, so it didn't exactly ruin the evening. We giggled over her last gutter ball, Cheered when she actually hit pins, and generally had a great time.

I made a surprise strike near the end of the game, so I pulled out the win... but before that, it had by no means been assured. All in all, it was a great evening.

We sat around and talked for a while after the game, and I made sure to set up yet another date for her next day off of work. She seemed as excited as I was about our next meeting, and we sealed the evening with a torrid kiss.

I spent the next day painting, gardening, and fishing, catching up on the things I should have done the days before. It was turning out to be a fabulous day.

After finishing another painting, I headed down to the pond to catch something nice for dinner. Amazingly, I caught two, and figured I could have fish in the morning, too. But it seems that was not to be.

As I stepped into my camp, I was surprised by my friend Mariko who had decided to try her own hand at painting while waiting for me to come back from wherever I was. I was overjoyed to have company, and wondered at the coincidence of the two fish I'd caught.

We chatted while I cleaned the fish (and amazingly, she didn't even seem squeamish about it!), and then we chatted some more. We talked about her job at the library, we talked about my paintings, we even talked a little about the changes that had happened to the town since my family left it, even though very little of it had been good.

I even went so far as to confess my feelings for the lovely Alex, and Mariko seems to be 100% in support. I sheepishly told her that I had been thinking about ring shopping, and she encouraged me, and even offered to come along for moral support.

By this time, however, both of our tummies were growling, so we set about making fish for dinner.

As it happens, though, Mariko isn't very good at setting fires... unless it's setting herself on fire.

Luckily, she was alright beyond some small burns that I carefully put some ointment on.... and I proceeded to take over fire duties for the night.

The fish was fabulous, crisp on the outside, flaky on the inside, and we both devoured our shares quickly.

Since it was a special night, I broke out some marshmallows... and we made S'Mores for dessert. She gave me a big hug on the way out the door... and we agreed to meet the day before Alex and I's next date - to go pick out rings. Maybe it was a bit too soon, but I knew how I felt... and I hoped Alex did, too.

After Mariko left, I was cleaning up the campfire when one of the locals stopped by. It clearly was NOT to be a friendly visit, however, and she left me with a cryptic warning about leaving the old Vampire in the mansion, Vladislaus Straud, waiting.

As the sun rose on another day.... after my sleepless night as I watched the old mansion's lights flickering on and off all night.... I shivered, dreading the confrontation that sounded like it was going to have to happen to get the old man and his.. friends? .. to leave me alone. I liked my life, I liked my home, and I wasn't giving up either because of some night loving freaks. Still... I couldn't help but wish I had real walls to keep me safe. And, with any luck, keep my beloved Alex safe, too. Thinking of her put a smile back on my face - at least for a moment. I couldn't allow myself to dwell on her for too long, however, I had money to make if I was going to be able to care for her, too... and a house to save up for.

Chapter 4 | Chapter 6

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mercuryfoam
Guest
Mercuryfoam
June 19, 2020 7:47 PM

Ahaha Night loving freaks that cracked me up. They were giving him creepy vibes the entire way so no surprises he'd develop a bias. Not to mention books are usually skewed. And when he goes to Vlad's mansion I have an inkling his disdain for them will only increase. 😂

ciysims
Guest
ciysims
July 15, 2020 5:39 PM

Oh man, this is bad portents I think......

Post Calendar

June 2020
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 19
  • 585
  • 91,444
  • 1
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram