Foreshadowed Sunset: Chapter 4

By:
IllusoryThrall
February 26, 2020

Chapter 3 | Chapter 5

Alex and I met at the cafe with a kiss and an embrace. After a few minutes of coaxing, I managed to talk her into going out to the local Italian restaurant for a nice dinner. She knew I was still a "struggling artist" and didn't want me to spend my money on her, but, eventually, I convinced her it wasn't going to break my bank account.

We walked hand in hand along the quay, and I told her about how well my paintings had been selling lately, while she chatted about a possible promotion she might be getting at work. Before I knew it, we had arrived, and I quickly requested a table.

At the restaurant, she confidently ordered for both of us, and I approved of her choice. It had certainly been a while since I'd had pasta (since most of my meals came from the pond or my cooler), and I stifled a smile. It would do me no good to tell her about my living situation... at least, not yet. I was trying to impress her, not drive her away!

We flirted lightly while waiting for the food. I blew her a kiss, and she seemed delighted by the gesture. I noticed that the restaurant was filling up quickly, and was glad we had been seated outside in a semi-private corner.

By the time the waitress brought the food, we barely took the time to say thank-you, because we were so engrossed in our conversation. It seemed we had a lot in common, and she was easy to talk to. Easy on the eyes, too, if I could say so without sounding horrible cheesey.

The pasta was delicious, and the date a huge success. We both went home with a smile, and I made sure I tipped well on our way out the door. At the last minute, I remembered to secure another date with her for the weekend, and I told her we could do something fun, but I left out the details. I had a couple ideas, but I didn't want to give them away just yet.

Early the next morning, I awoke to a huge Summer thunderstorm. Lightning struck, and I felt electrified. Terrified, I ran to Sonia's house for shelter, because I doubted my tent would suffice.

I was thoroughly soaked, and more than a little bit dazed by the time I got to Sonia's, and I thanked my lucky stars (it seemed I might have a few of those, after all!) that she was home. She hurried me inside and got me a towel to dry off with.

Through the hours while the storm raged, we chatted happily. I learned why she had cat furniture all over her home - and no cat. Her last cat had passed away several months before I arrived in Forgotten Hollow, and she hadn't had the heart to get a new one. I could understand the need for a grieving period, even though I'd never really had a pet. We talked about my paintings, and the success I was finding selling them at the Gallery.

By the time the storm started calming down, I was starving, and she was kind enough to feed me. It wasn't much - just a sandwich - but I was immensely appreciative. It seemed Sonia had done so much for me lately. She had been very instrumental in bringing back my will to live and soldier on.. and I wondered how I could thank her properly.

All the next night, and into the morning, I pondered this. It wasn't an easy question to answer, that's for sure.

I took care of my garden, and my bees, and still I thought. By afternoon, the sun had finally made another appearance, and I'd had an idea.

I searched on my phone, and finally found the number for the local pet adoption center. After a long conversation with the man who answered the phone, I finally settled on a little beige kitten named Prissy, and I arranged for her to be brought over to my .. erm.. home.

I cautiously approached the kitten, and was delighted to find it to be wonderfully friendly, if a little too talkative for my tastes. The adoption agent was more than skeptical about my ability to care for the tiny kitten, but I assured him that the cat was not for me, it was for a cat-crazy friend. The agent mumbled about it being "highly unusual" to be giving a kitten to one person just to have it go to someone else, but eventually, I convinced him this cat would definitely be getting her forever home, and he seemed eager to be leaving the area. I wondered why, but he seemed more than a little apprehensive, and kept looking worriedly over his shoulders.

By the time the adoption fees finally changed hands, it was nearly evening, and I regretted my choice to wear my suit coat that day, because it had gotten quite warm in the sun. I gathered up the tiny meowing kitten, and hurried over to Sonia's for the second day in a row.

The light that came into her eyes when she saw little Prissy made all the trouble getting the cat worth it. I thought I even saw a little tear in the corner of her eye, but I wasn't about to call her out on it.

She gave me a big hug when she found out I had gotten the cat for her, despite the fact that she protested that she really hadn't done all that much for me. I completely disagreed, of course. We watched the kitten exploring her new home for a while, and I helped set up the food and water bowls that had been sitting in her cupboards for months.

By the time I left for the night, little Prissy had clearly taken Sonia's home as hers, and she watched me go from her perch on the top of Sonia's porch stairs. I gave her one final scratch behind the ears, and even whistled a little on the way home.

The next morning, bills arrived in the mail, and I wondered how the heck they had already gotten so high, when all I really used was a little bit of water for showering. I cursed that Landgraab fellow under my breath, sure he'd had something to do with getting the property taxes mixed in with the rest of the bills so soon. I made out the checks to the necessary parties, and sent them off, thankful I had already saved a bit of a nest egg from selling my paintings.

Then, I hurried to my easel to get some more painting done. I needed to recoup the money I had just spent, after all... and with as inspired and happy as I felt, I had plenty to paint about. Life was going great. I couldn't ask for more. Except, maybe, for a house. But that would come. I still hadn't had the guts to apply for the permits and stuff.. and I would have to start thinking about a design for it. Eventually. For now, my mind was focused on my paintings.. and on planning the upcoming second date with Alex. I couldn't have anything go wrong now, not when everything was starting to look so bright!

Chapter 3 | Chapter 5

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

6 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mercuryfoam
Guest
Mercuryfoam
June 19, 2020 7:43 PM

Do you play with mods? Wondering about the property tax bit mentioned in the story. That's nice of him to get Prissy for Sonia. Prissy is so cute though I'd be so tempted to keep her myself.😄

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
June 19, 2020 7:48 PM
Reply to  Mercuryfoam

No mods, I'm strictly CC-free in Sims 4. The property tax bit was strictly for the story. Although now that Eco Lifestyle is out, they actually do have property tax. 🙂

Mercuryfoam
Guest
Mercuryfoam
June 19, 2020 7:50 PM
Reply to  illusorythrall

Oh i see! I haven't got the pack yet. Theres so many bugs posted on the forums it kinda scares me.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
June 19, 2020 7:52 PM
Reply to  Mercuryfoam

I honestly haven't noticed any bugs.. but then, I haven't really been looking for them. I know they patched a couple times since the pack came out, mostly something to do with save files - but I haven't had any problems. Maybe I've just been lucky.

raerei
Guest
raerei
June 23, 2020 1:08 AM

Omg. Sweetest sim ever. I take it all back. This will be a lovely light hearted story about a boy, his barrista girlfriend, and the newly becatted old lady having the time of their lives and finding utimate happiness.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
June 23, 2020 3:03 AM
Reply to  raerei

*chuckles* Well, it could be!

Post Calendar

February 2020
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 582
  • 716
  • 91,422
  • 1
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram