Tails of Sulani - Chapter 0.7

By:
IllusoryThrall
July 4, 2019

Chapter 0.6 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.8

Generation Zero: Beige - Starts with a HUMAN Sim

Appearance: Dark Blonde Hair, poor clothing style
Traits: Slob, Childish, Clumsy
Aspiration: Pick whatever you'd like. (Your goal this
generation is only to become a Mermaid and have your heir)
Occupation: Part Time Jobs ONLY
House Goal: None
Lot Trait: Off the Grid

(A/N: So.. I have good news and bad news. I was so happy with Tevin, that I had let "fate" decide.. and when they tried for baby and failed while Tevin was still a toddler, I figured it was destiny. So I sold the baby crib and played on with his toddler years. I blithely gave him the Klepto trait per the next generation's rules and settled in to let him grow up and learn at school. It wasn't until another couple days had passed that I re-read the rules and suddenly remembered it had to be a FEMALE heir.. so I was thrown back into the baby-making deep end. You'll love the result. I sure didn't, though! --Also of note, as of yesterday, I signed this challenge up to be in the SimNaNo over at boolprop forums, with the goal to publish one 1000+ word chapter a day for the whole month of July! I have several updates just waiting, and more to come, so expect this story to move along pretty quick for a while here.)


Life couldn't be better. I had a wonderful husband, and a beautiful baby boy who was now old enough to go to school. Vaea's garden was growing great, and both were at the top of our part time job ladders. Without a toddler to care for constantly, I had all this time on my hands. I figured working around the house should probably be top of my list.

The first thing on my list was upgrading the clothesline so it would stop breaking. Surely an iron line would keep things in order.

Tevin was hungry when he got home from school, so we sat down to a very early dinner, as a whole family. Spending time together is such an amazing thing, and being that Vaea and I only have part time jobs, it's something we can very easily do. It's certainly more than my parents ever did back in the city with their crazy hours spent on their careers!

Then I helped him with his homework, and scooted him off to play for the rest of the day. Of course, his first order of business was head straight to the beach. That's my boy!

The next day, Tevin wanted to do his homework all by himself. They grow up so fast, don't they? I watched him proudly from a distance, then we went out swimming again. The beach was practically deserted, so we had it almost all to ourselves. Perhaps it was because of the clouds. They weren't going to stop us, however!

Late that night, I had to have a serious discussion with Vaea. We were expecting again! After his initial shock (we had tried once before this, and failed!) - he was immediately sold on the idea, and we completely regretted selling all the baby and toddler stuff from when Tevin was little. Oh well. At least we knew what we were going to need. We also had a fairly healthy bank account, so part of the discussion was saving to give the new baby a room of his/her own. We didn't really have a huge amount of space on our lot, but there was definitely enough space for that.

I waffled a bit about telling Tevin about the baby, but in the end, I decided to wait a little while until I had a better moment. Although, with my little baby bump, he might have already noticed...

We took another day at the beach, and this time it was sunny. Tevin was still wishing he had his tail already, but I maintained that patience would make it so much better when it arrived. (I didn't really know, but it was a good guess, and sound advice, I thought.) We swam and played in the water, enjoying the feel of the sun on our shoulders.

Tevin got a bit tired, however, so he commandeered his favorite community pool lounger and took a nap. This photo caught me mid-change into my mermaid tail, so if I look a little weird - that's why. Nalani, our favorite local mermaid was also around, cavorting in the waves, just like us.

.... So I called her over for a chat. She was always so nice, and we were starting to be great friends. (Although I found it odd that she still refused to admit she was a mermaid - when she so obviously was! - but that was her choice, I suppose. Hiding what we are is a bit of a habit with some of us, I guess. I certainly wasn't hiding, however.. so each to his/her own.)

I grilled us some pineapple I had from Vaea's garden (why are things always better when they've been grown by someone you love?) for dinner, while Tevin played in the sand. He still loved the feel of the grains sliding between his fingers, and, as usual, he makes the neatest sand castles.

After babysitting that night, I was surprised to find Tevin still up. I finally decided there was no time like the present to tell him the big news. He acted surprised, but I think he had already guessed it. Most importantly, he was excited to be a big brother. Knowing that he was all-in was a huge relief to me, because the mom in me had really been worrying that he would be upset.

I let him feel the baby, and the joy on his face when the baby kicked against his hand made everything settle in my stomach. My little family might be growing, but it was still going to be a happy one.

The next afternoon, I made some more grilled pineapple at Tevin's request, and we had a liesurely dinner, just the two of us. Vaea had some urgent lifeguard business, so he hadn't even gotten to finish his dinner - but since we had the fridge, I could save it for him for later.

After dinner, Tevin and I went outside to play on the new swingset Vaea and I had bought and built for him in the backyard, behind the garden. He swore it was nearly as much fun as swimming, but we both knew that wasn't true.

Vaea's garden is coming along great, and is definitely making dinners cheaper to make. All the extra produce we had sold easily at the market, too, so it was a few extra simoleons that we could always use.

Pregnancy cravings are funny things. For some reason, I keep wanting cheese crackers. We have a fridge stocked with healthy things, and all I want are crackers and cheese. Tevin thinks it's hilarious.

Late that night, I was awoken by a familiar pain. I quickly woke Vaea and we headed off to the hospital again.

This time, Vaea was brave enough to follow me into the procedure room - although he continued panicking. Who knows what he thought could go wrong.. but it certainly wasn't what actually happened.

Twins. What?!?! We definitely hadn't planned for that. I got the baby girl I'd always wanted, but a baby boy just had to tag along, apparently. Where were we going to fit another child in this tiny house?? We named them Corina and Kaleb, and stopped for an extra bassinet on the way home. Luckily there was a late-night superstore on the way home from the hospital, because heaven knows what we would have done with Kaleb otherwise!

Chapter 0.6 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.8

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
ciysims
Guest
ciysims
July 19, 2019 3:30 PM

Oh my...twins! I did not expect that somehow. Man oh man, what are they going to do? Guess we'll find out since you've already played it. lol

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
July 19, 2019 3:37 PM
Reply to  ciysims

The twins were a huge surprise to me, too. And not particularly a welcome one!

Post Calendar

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 18
  • 677
  • 103,467
  • 17
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram