Tails of Sulani - Chapter 0.5

By:
IllusoryThrall
July 2, 2019

Chapter 0.4 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.6

Generation Zero: Beige - Starts with a HUMAN Sim

Appearance: Dark Blonde Hair, poor clothing style
Traits: Slob, Childish, Clumsy
Aspiration: Pick whatever you'd like. (Your goal this
generation is only to become a Mermaid and have your heir)
Occupation: Part Time Jobs ONLY
House Goal: None
Lot Trait: Off the Grid

So.. I left you on a cliffhanger.

And as it turns out.. yes. I am expecting!

Vaea is as excited as I am.. and he quickly takes the time to get a Manual Labor and a Lifeguard job. With both of us working two jobs, we should be able to afford the baby.

Having someone around to help me in the hunt for seashells and treasure is such a great thing.. it gives me more time to play in the ocean and enjoy the sunshine.

Vaea takes an early morning jog while I'm at work.. he'll need the fitness skill for his Lifeguard job.

Then, he joins me in the ocean. Things couldn't be more peaceful or perfect.

At least.. until I get home.. and realize - that with no real running water, I can't really clean the toilet. However, with my skill in handiness (thank goodness for all that practice back at Willow Creek Gym!) - I come up with a work-a-round. I can install a self-cleaning mechanism that apparently doesn't use running water. I just needed to get the parts for it. So I bought a laptop, and went to the Bar to use their wi-fi to order parts. I got some weird looks - but that's ok. Living off the grid isn't always the easiest thing to do, and if I have to deal with some strange looks to do it, so be it.

While I worked on the plumbing, Vaea tried his hand at grilling. I can't say it turned out too bad. Wasn't that great, either.. but it was edible, and I wasn't about to knock him for trying to help out around the house.

And help out, he did. Having him around was awesome, since we could work as a team, and get things done twice as fast. Laundry, however, still took just as long.. and things never seemed to come out completely clean. But such are the hazards of off the grid living.

The next day was New Year's Eve, and we both made resolutions to get promotions. We had a small celebration, just the two of us, and used our watches to count down to the new year. What a year it was going to be, too, with a new nooboo on the way, and the two of us together!

By this time, Vaea had become my best friend. Not that I had a ton of other friends, but he was definitely the best. We tucked ourselves into bed and cuddled up close to ward off the night's chill.

We certainly didn't  make it until morning, however, since regular pains in my lower back woke me up. Vaea, of course, panicked immediately, and insisted we go to the hospital. I wasn't sure how they would handle me being a mermaid.. but it turned out the question never came up. There wasn't exactly a blank on the forms for that particular fact. We checked in, and I headed back to the procedure room, while Vaea waited nervously in the waiting room, absent-mindedly watching the TV.

With the weird contraption they had me stuffed into, I wasn't any less nervous.. but the doctor quickly reassured me that she did this sort of thing all the time..

.. And before long, little Tevin Naiades joined the world. He was adorable. No sign of fins, yet, but our little merman would get them with time. Back home, we tucked him into his little bassinet, and headed back to bed.

The next couple days were a blind rush of baby care and naps for me. Vaea helped out as much as he possibly could.. and I was so very glad I had taken care of all the plumbing upgrades before the baby had arrived. At least everything had a less chance of breaking, and would keep itself clean. I'd run out of parts before getting to any other upgrades, but that was okay. We had other things to spend the money on now than upgrade parts!

The first load of baby laundry, however, was the last one for the clothesline.. and on yet another rainy day, I ended up having to fix it.

So what else is there to do.. but make the rain go away, right?? With the sun out, we could now focus on fixing the clothesline.. and building a room for little Tevin.

Vaea was proving to be such a good parent, stepping in when I absolutely couldn't stay awake anymore, and neither of us had to take time off of work - which was important because we had toddler furniture to buy soon.

When one thing goes wrong.. so does everything else. Glad that I had Vaea to take care of the baby, I fixed the plumbing. It took forever, and by the time I was done, I was starving.

Well that.. and my scales were itchy and needed a break in the ocean. First things first.. I let Vaea take a swim break, and set out to make dinner. It had been a long day, but when Vaea came home, he had a surprise for me.

He had met another mermaid who lived in town! I KNEW there were more of us living out here! Maybe we could invite her over for dinner on another day....

But first.. today had other things for us... Like Tevin growing up. His beautiful big eyes and black hair matched his dark skin, and he was amazing. I couldn't believe I had made such a sweet little merman. Still, no scales and fins yet.. but I had faith. That would come in time!

Chapter 0.4 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.6

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

4 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
cathytea
Guest
cathytea
July 3, 2019 11:49 AM

What a beautiful child!

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
July 3, 2019 1:11 PM
Reply to  cathytea

I know! Tevin is so adorable, I love this little family!

ciysims
Guest
ciysims
July 19, 2019 3:06 PM

Interesting idea using the upgrade feature. That makes a lot of sense. I guess off the grid really does mean of any grid, plumbing included. Tevin is super cute!

Deafsimmer
Guest
Deafsimmer
April 24, 2021 11:57 AM

Tevin is so cute.

Post Calendar

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 0
  • 677
  • 103,449
  • 22
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram