Tails of Sulani - Chapter 0.4

By:
IllusoryThrall
July 1, 2019

Chapter 0.3 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.5

Generation Zero: Beige - Starts with a HUMAN Sim

Appearance: Dark Blonde Hair, poor clothing style
Traits: Slob, Childish, Clumsy
Aspiration: Pick whatever you'd like. (Your goal this
generation is only to become a Mermaid and have your heir)
Occupation: Part Time Jobs ONLY
House Goal: None
Lot Trait: Off the Grid

A/N: This challenge is written in first person, and I started her as a teen for the purpose of the story. Now that we're in Sulani.. I'll tell you, I find that "Off the Grid" Lot Trait REALLY hard to play with. It makes taking care of your sim SO much harder. As it should be. As things progressed and I was able to afford some "luxuries" (read: higher quality items), it did get a little easier. But be forewarned.. this is NOT an easy challenge!


Day after day, I searched the cave, looking for more evidence of Mermaids. Some days, I didn't even take the time to change out of my work uniform.

And amazingly, today I hit pay dirt. I found something called Mermadic Kelp. I was so tired, though, I elected to wait until the next day to try it. I had hear rumors about such a thing, and from those, I knew I had to eat it. Despite being so exhausted, I was so excited I had trouble getting to sleep.

The next day dawned sunny and gorgeous. A perfect day.. to become a mermaid. At least, that's what I thought the stuff would do. No matter how unappetizing it looked, I worked up my courage and took a big bite. Then another. Then another. By the time I finished it, I was suffused with strange, energized feelings, and I had an undeniable urge to be in the water. So.. off I went. The moment I stepped in the water, I knew my life had changed. For the better! I watched my legs disappear beneath the waves and a tail appear. A gorgeous blue tail. Nobody could deny the existence of mermaids to me anymore. But for some reason, I didn't feel the same urge to tell everyone about them anymore. Maybe being was was validating enough.

Echo was thrilled. I had fins now, too! I fed him a couple fish, gave him a belly rub, and generally enjoyed an afternoon of being in the water playing with my dolphin friend.

That night, there was another party at the communal bonfire by my home. It was such a great night that I attended.. and I met my destiny. He didn't know it yet.. but I certainly did. I was going to use every bit of charm I had (and maybe some of my new mermaid powers) to convince this beautiful man to be mine. His name was Vaea, and he'd lived on the island all his life. He loved the outdoors, was a goofball, and a bookworm. (But I wasn't about to hold the bookworm against him.) I spent the evening thoroughly monopolizing his time, making sure the other island girls wouldn't have a chance.

When I felt we were good enough friends, I took the moment, and slyly added in a note of flirtatiousness. Where I got the boldness, I will never know. But he liked it! I'd never been really good around guys.. but for some reason, my new life as a mermaid gave me the confidence.

He was shocked, but receptive to a first kiss... and it was a perfect end to the evening. The cool winter air played across my skin as I walked home, practically floating on air in my happiness.

The next day, my first order of business was to contact the contractors and get my hut expanded. By now, I certainly had the money.. and the upgrade to the double bed was going to be needed. I would make sure of that!

I hummed Winterfest tunes to myself as I put up my first official tree.. and placed some presents below it's branches. I made sure there was at least a couple of them for Vaea.

Then, I put my new wash basin to good use and did all my laundry. It was a horrible rainy day.. and I let it rain for as long as I could.. but when I hung my laundry out to dry on my new clothesline, I called up my powers.. and I brought out the sun.

I had clearly left an impression, because while I was hanging my clothes out, Vaea showed up at my door.. claiming he couldn't stop thinking about me. Perfect. He seemed impressed with my home, and all that I had accomplished on my own since coming to the island.. and part of me had to agree. All that beach-combing, work on part time jobs, and the random treasure I'd found in the caves to sell while hunting for my mermaid dreams had paid off.

We watched the clouds for a while, but the air became cold, so we headed next door to cuddle by the bonfire for a while to warm up.

There was some Kava, and a crowd of locals.. but we were too busy with each other to notice. After a while, my stomach started growling.. so I offered to try out the communal BBQ pit to make us a feast for Winterfest.

The feast was a huge success, and I made a note to come back to make more feasts here in the future. But for now.. my future was standing right next to me. I invited him back to my home, and convinced him (it didn't take much) to stay overnight.

By the next day, I felt confident enough to ask him to be mine. And he agreed! I let him in on my mermadic secret, and I showed him the stock of kelp I had left over, letting him know that he could be one, too.

We had a lovely "ceremony" outside - because neither of us wanted to wait. I gave him his kelp, and he bravely (and excitedly) chomped it right down.

Before the afternoon was over, he had fins, too. My life had certainly spun out of my control.. but I was loving every moment of it. I introduced him to Echo, and showed him where I had found the kelp in the caves. It was nearly bedtime before I remembered the gifts under the tree, and we shared a belated gift-giving party.

There was only one thing that could make my life better at this point. And it was time to get "working" on it!


Bonus Outtake:

Apparently the local Alien night at the bar spawned a bunch of aliens in the world..

Chapter 0.3 | Rules for this challenge | Chapter 0.5

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

2 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
ciysims
Guest
ciysims
July 19, 2019 2:37 PM

Woo, two mermaids now. Such a fun set up and I am loving reading through this!

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
July 19, 2019 3:07 PM
Reply to  ciysims

It was a ton of fun to play through, so I'm glad it's a fun read, too!

Post Calendar

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 620
  • 721
  • 103,392
  • 25
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram