Posted in My Sims 3 Challenges, Sims 3, Spectres of the Past (on hiatus)

Ruminations….

So, one of my oldest stories on here is still technically “on hiatus”… and it has been since 2012. I never got to the point of retiring it, I just stopped writing it. Partially – well, no mostly – because I got so frustrated that I couldn’t make the game do what needed to happen in my story. I still LOVE the story idea, and where I wanted to go with it. I even have two “drafts” of posts sitting here on wordpress, waiting for the words to be written to go with the pictures. I have the rest of the pictures for more posts saved from backup to backup and computer to computer as the years have gone by.

It finally occurred to me tonight that if I had gone to all this trouble to save this story that had a measly three actual chapters posted.. then maybe that should tell me something: this story is important to me. Important enough to save, which means I really ought to honor that by re-examining why I stopped writing it and how I can get back to the story. I started the story, I think, as a game-driven story.. or so I thought.. but then the game didn’t follow what I wanted to happen. Of course, back then I didn’t know what a game driven story was versus a story-driven or scripted. Now I do… and what I see is possibilities. Whether I can do them justice, I don’t know… But if I saved this story for all this time (and I did), I feel I have the duty to at least try.

Where to go from where it is? First of all, it’ll need to be changed to a story-driven simlit. I couldn’t continue because game and story weren’t matching up and I wasn’t (at the time) willing to cheat to get where I needed the game to be. If I change the driving force of it to being the story.. and not the game.. then cheating in game to get the screenshots I need is possible, and even desirable. Which eliminates the main reason I stopped writing the story. Now the only question left is.. do I have the writing talent and/or time to put into it to make this story actually work? That I don’t know. But I feel I have to try.

So.. on that note.. expect to see some strange story posts coming sometime soon.. once I have the time away from testing the Apartment Switch … and I get the save functional again on Sims 3. If I can get the save functional in the next week or two, I will definitely be continuing the story. If not, it’ll have to go in the “retired” file.. but I truly think I can get it back up and working. I found the town it uses and have it installed and working, I just have to get the save back into the game. .. Then all I need is to write!

Can I do it? Who knows. (Why I felt the need to write all this out, I don’t know that either.. but here it is. Site update news indeed.)

Author:

Mom to an active and opinionated 17 year old. Have a wonderful husband who allows me to keep my Sims addiction. ;) Also, an avid crafter, mostly knitting and (some) crochet, but some needlepoint and cross-stitch as well. When I have time, I also enjoy reading and music.

9 thoughts on “Ruminations….

  1. Oh how exciting ! This reminds me of what Deira was talking about with one of her legacies ! I’m sure you can do it as a writer , and we can talk about it and the writing process at our circle thread , if you want . Plus , Writers’ Lounge thread is a great place to get tips , too !

    1. Thanks! I think it’s pretty exciting too.. I’ve been sitting on this story since 2012! I did some rough outlining last night, trying to get a feel of where the story wanted to go. I’ll have to play with mods to get the cheats available for what I want it to do, but that’s okay. Before I actually start writing, I want to be sure I can actually get the game playable again, but I’m pretty sure I can. *crosses fingers*

  2. As a mainly sim driven story teller… I love having the endings in place from challenges, I salute you! I had a similar experience with my Ambrosia challenge, u just had too much story there and the challenge was getting in the way. I had to break it into two saves. And I’m much happier getting to tell the story I need to. Good luck with yours!

    PS. I just started my Switch save last night. πŸ™‚ Phoenix Drifter and I are excited to start!

    1. I’m glad you’re starting a Switch save, I am really having fun with my two families I have working through the switches. I find the change of pace from drifter to be lots of fun. It’s neat moving through apartments and decorating them!

      1. I think you’ll like the change of pace from drifting. It’s just enough like drifting to be interesting, but always moving around makes it really interesting.

      2. I’m working on finishing up testing Switch Three right now so it can release tomorrow. Then I am giving myself most of next week “off” to work on Drifters and other stuff before another solid week of testing Switch Four.

Leave a Reply

