Travelers 1.7 Caleb's Application for a Pen Pal

The Question < | > Waiting

Name:

Caleb Traveler

Select your age bracket:

16-18

Profession:

High School Student for now, who knows what upon graduation.

If you selected “other,” please describe:

I will probably be a gardener like my mother, but I have no idea what the government contract will require me to do. I'm destined to build a house for the city of Simsville in an effort to rebuild the town. If I could pick what I would do, it would be something involved in food. I love food!

How many pen pals are you interested in acquiring?

One or two.. with earning money and building a house I will probably not have time for more than that!

What qualities do you seek in a pen pal?

I honestly don't know how to reply to this. I guess it would have to be someone who can put up with my ramblings about food.

Do you have a desire to meet your pen pal face-to-face?

If it fits in with the travel restrictions placed on me by the city, I certainly would like to meet them. I do have to be careful about where I travel, though, being that I'm under contract by the city.

Please describe, in as much detail as possible, your reason for wanting to join the pen pal project:

I love meeting new people, and I think it would be fun to find someone from someplace else that might know some recipes I don't know. Knowing that my letters are getting to travel around the world would just be so neat. When I heard about the pen pal project I just got so excited, and I had to join. My friends think I'm silly for wanting to write to someone who I don't know, but I think that would be part of the fun - getting to know someone new.


Author's Note: Caleb is a part of a Drifter Challenge, told in story form. He's going to be "running" the second generation. He's an outgoing, glutton, gregarious sim with a teenage aspiration of "Party Animal." I have no way of knowing what trait he'll roll for his adult trait as I'm enforcing a random trait roll for the challenge. He will be doing a fair bit of traveling, as I plan to have him visit the city festivals in search of new food recipes in the first half of the challenge, and then he has the Outdoor Enthusiast Aspiration to finish in the second half of his challenge (once his heir is child age). Caleb, obviously, doesn't know this yet.. but I do. Personality wise, he's very much into food, and loves meeting new people.. so a pen pal who might be able to talk recipe ideas would be ideal.. or at the very least, someone who can at least put up with him talking about food a lot. I will be weaving his letter-writing into his story. As for how many chapters his story will last, that I can't say.. but I will say I'm very excited to write his story, since he's such an interesting sim for a drifter challenge - (Come on, a person who loves food in a challenge that starts from basically starvation rations?! .. Perfect.) I do expect to be writing his generation for a while because I have a lot planned for him. The letters will begin to be sent before he actually takes over for his generation, in other words, while he is still a teen and will function as a bit of an interlude as he grows up.

The Question < | > Waiting

Loading

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

10 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
sweetnightingale
Guest
sweetnightingale
March 5, 2017 6:53 PM

Oh, I really like this, 🙂 I think I have a couple Sims he might like.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
March 5, 2017 6:57 PM

Thanks! I saw the pen pal project and thought it would be perfect for my next Drifter generation. I'm in no hurry to finish the next generation, since I have other challenges going, so I can afford to take the extra time to weave the pen pal project into the story. This is actually my second Drifter challenge, but the other one isn't told story form. I really like Caleb's character and having him getting involved with the pen pal project seemed perfect for his personality.

sweetnightingale
Guest
sweetnightingale
March 5, 2017 7:26 PM
Reply to  illusorythrall

I've never played the Drifter Challenge but it sure has caught on. 🙂 I'm a true Sims 3 diehard and it's been a little challenging embracing Sims 4. With all they've added, it's getting easier though. 🙂 Caleb seems like a neat character and I love that you'll be weaving the project into your story. I'll be doing the same for my stories as well.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
March 5, 2017 7:35 PM

I have Sims 3 too, and have a couple stories set in that game, too. I just have them on hiatus right now while I finish writing up the challenge I came up with based on the City Living expansion. The more they add to Sims 4 the more I like it.. especially now that toddlers have arrived. It seemed so sad without them. The Drifter Challenge has been the major draw to Sims 4 for me, it really pulled me in. My challenge is sort of a spin-off of the Drifter Challenge, with the author's permission, and it's a lot of work to test and publish it, so having Caleb's story to do gives me a reason to take breaks.

sweetnightingale
Guest
sweetnightingale
March 5, 2017 9:55 PM
Reply to  illusorythrall

I can't imagine writing up a detail challenge like that. There so much you have to test and remember, and I know I would bork it up. LOL. I agree! With toddlers, the game is so much better. It just seems so weird without them. One of these days, I will play the Drifter Challenge for fun and see how that goes. I have not really done a challenge in Sims 4 and just tend to play open ended games.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
March 5, 2017 10:10 PM

The drifter challenge has 24 houses worth of mini-challenges, the one I'm doing has six.. so it's FAR less work.. but it's still keeping me very busy. I'm planning to release the third part of my challenge this weekend, so I really need to finish testing the content first. I don't know how Vi, the creator of the Drifter challenge did one house challenge a month for 2 whole years!

sweetnightingale
Guest
sweetnightingale
March 5, 2017 10:20 PM
Reply to  illusorythrall

That is definitely persistence to release a challenge part once a month for two years. If memory serves me correctly, there are a lot of things to do within each challenge, so creating and playing it is a lot of work. It's nice that there are shortened versions for those who don't want to,do 25 houses.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
March 5, 2017 10:37 PM

Luckily, you don't have to do all 24 houses. Each one is set up that you can do it as a standalone challenge if you want. It's just more fun if you're using the heir from the last challenge for the next one. You get to follow your little family all the way through the generations.

sweetnightingale
Guest
sweetnightingale
March 6, 2017 6:34 AM

It's great that it can be worked either way. I really feel a sense of accomplishment when you can follow your family. In one of my stories, I have an immortal legacy going. That means, I will have 10 iimmortal generations and significant others. It's going to be crazy, but I will have a real powerhouse family. LOL.

illusorythrall
Guest
illusorythrall
March 6, 2017 10:49 AM

That sounds like fun, too. I've tried a legacy type challenge before but I always get bored and stop by the third or fourth generation. The Drifter challenge keeps my attention because of the different goals each generation.

Post Calendar

March 2017
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

My Recent Twitter Posts

Discord

Site Stats

  • 170
  • 604
  • 100,489
  • 0
I am a 45 year old American wife, mother, and gamer. I’ve lived in the Midwest most of my life, and enjoy it for the changing seasons. My favorite movie is Labyrinth, my favorite game is Sims 4, and I have tattoos related to both. My favorite colors are purple, red, and green. When I’m not playing games (which is rare) I also enjoy reading and crafting. I’m also an animal lover, and have had many types of pets over the years. Currently, I have a dog named Cassie who is a Jack Russel / Beagle mix and three young fancy rats (all of whom are rescues). I run this Sims 4 Blog where I post screenshots and stories about the different challenges I play. Also here are the Sims 4 challenges I've written, and a place for me to store all the Sims 4 knowledge I've gotten over the years. I am also a Sims 4/variety streamer on Twitch for my mental health, fun, and to meet new people. I have also recently been accepted to the EA Creator Network, which is a dream come true! I look forward to meeting you!
More About me...
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram