Posted in Ze Miscellany

Am I the only one who can’t stand memes??

After watching my husband go through all these weird pictures/posts/jokes with memes and the like.. I find myself so utterly annoyed I can’t even sleep.  … grrr.  Sometimes I feel like I must be the only person anymore who just doesn’t find 99% of them funny.  And staring blankly at my hubby just gets me an “explanation” of why they’re funny – which never seems to help.. so I’ve learned to just chuckle for half a second and he’s satisfied I “got it”.  It’s not that I don’t get the jokes – I do.  It’s not that I don’t have a sense of humor.. I do.  Rather sarcastic, quirky, often dry, and usually involving taking things literally or hearing them wrong simply because I can.  😉  It’s just that these “memes” are usually so stupid they simply cease to amuse.  (Probably this also correlates to my problems with a good portion of today’s (and yesterday’s) “comedy” movies and 80-90% of sitcoms. .. perhaps more..)  Granted, I realise that is simply my opinion.  Most people seem to find all that stuff incredibly funny, and I at least put on a good face for it.. but some days.. inside, I’m simply seething with the need to scream.  Now, however, that’s not to say I don’t find some of today’s stranger “geeky” internet trends darn funny.  ICanHazCheezeburger? cats .. that, I can look at all day.  Failblog?  You bet… Most of the time that’s funny.  I’ve even been “converted” to actually watching – and laughing my rear off at the “Jacka$$” films.  (Although they’re still incredibly stupid.. haha)..   But memes?  Count me out.  Sorry hubby.. and the rest of the world.  Re-roll.  Format, Reinstall.  Something similar.  But please, get rid of them!!  🙂

This message has been brought to you by Random Rants.  For when you simply have to say something .. or burst!

Author:

Mom to an active and opinionated 17 year old. Have a wonderful husband who allows me to keep my Sims addiction. ;) Also, an avid crafter, mostly knitting and (some) crochet, but some needlepoint and cross-stitch as well. When I have time, I also enjoy reading and music.

Leave a Reply

