Posted in Ze Miscellany

Some stuff about me…

Updated Last: 2/10/2017

Before I do anything else, I figure I ought to introduce myself.  I’m currently 39, and a married mother of one.  I had 9 years as a single mother before finding the right dad and partner for my daughter, and I don’t regret a minute of it.  I tend to have a rather odd sense of humor, as anyone who knows me would attest to – probably rather vigorously.  I come by it mostly honestly – my dad’s family has a wacky brand of humor that is well-known and lamented throughout the family.  The last major family reunion I attended, one of my cousins decided to set up a “talent show” that seemed to rather quickly devolve into silly blonde jokes – most of which were only laughed at by the “born” family members – not the in-laws.  It’s quickly become a family joke about the “Webel humor” – at reunions, the family tends to gravitate together in usually-laughing groups, while in-laws congregate in another area.  My mom’s family humor was of a more dry, sarcastic bent..  so my sense of humor became rather warped between the two.  🙂

As I already mentioned, I have one daughter – who is now 17 years old, and I love her dearly.  She’s as silly and opinionated and geeky as me, and proud of it.  She likes horses and pirates and vampires and gaming and reading and art.. much like me.  She’s into all sorts of things… Art is a really big part of her life, and something she plans to stick with. She’s also very much a gamer like me and my hubby.  Being a gaming-type family, we have Xbox360, Playstation4 (and 3 and 2.. and 1), PSP, PSPVita, Nintendo DS, GameCube – heck I even have an old Intellivision game console – that works (not plugged in tho) around here somewhere.  So there’s always plenty of games to choose from.

Let’s see .. life history.  As I mentioned on the home page for this blog, I spent a good portion of my youth writing – and had some rather extensive training into it.  I at one point (ok, probably more like many points) wanted to be a writer for a life career – and that may still come about one day… but I always got pulled back towards my first love – horses.  I started riding at the age of three and a half and rode on a mostly daily basis from then until the time I was 19.. (at which point, life choices sent me far from home into the wilds of attempting to grow up – and couldn’t afford horses then.)  I got back into them a few years later, buying a wonderful horse for myself, and a pony for my daughter (really, miniature horse, she was four .. hehe).  I have since sold the horse – the prices to keep them simply skyrocketed in this area and I couldn’t afford her anymore.  There was also a secondary – probably more primary – issue of the fact that she was simply more horse than I was able to comfortably handle – and fear was becoming an issue.  To allow us to become better partners, I needed to be able to put more money into some professional training/help for the two of us, and I simply couldn’t afford it.  I always planned to get another, calmer, horse, but it simply hasn’t happened.  Not long after selling her, I ended up meeting my husband, and I became far too busy with family life to even have the time to work with horses .. but eventually.. it would be nice to get back into them… I just don’t see it happening any time soon.

Our current family pet is a Beagle/Terrier mix named Cassie that we got from a local no-kill shelter. We’ve had her since the middle of fall after our last dog, Balto, died from cancer. He’s missed terribly, even though we have another cute pooch. Cassie is usually pretty chilled out, and very quiet.. but she loves dinner and playtime (although I think dinner holds the top position in her life). Also recently, our cat Missy crossed the rainbow bridge as well (also due to cancer, unfortunately).

Well, enough babbling.  I may eventually think of more about me to post .. but this will do as an introduction.  *chuckle* .. probably more than most people want to know already!

Advertisements

Author:

Mom to an active and opinionated 17 year old. Have a wonderful husband who allows me to keep my Sims addiction. ;) Also, an avid crafter, mostly knitting and (some) crochet, but some needlepoint and cross-stitch as well. When I have time, I also enjoy reading and music.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s